Featured Home Improvement

Haunted Houses Directory

Here are the popular haunted houses across the United States. Our team has searched for articles published on the web. We cannot verify the integrity of the articles and we will not be responsible for any damages done. Our purpose is to entertain and provide a compiled list. Be sure to check out the reasons why it is haunted or…if a haunted house is near you!

Without further ado, here is the list of haunted houses:

Alabama
Adams Grove Presbyterian Churchhttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/alabama/haunting-history-church-al/
Boyington Oakhttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/alabama/haunted-graveyard-tree-al/
Dr. John R. Drish Househttps://www.thevintagenews.com/2016/12/18/drish-house-the-abandoned-alabaman-house-thats-the-centre-of-many-ghost-stories-in-the-state/
Gaineswoodhttps://www.hauntedplaces.org/item/gaineswood-plantation/
Kenworthy Hallhttps://www.ruralswalabama.org/attraction/kenworthy-hall-1858-1860/
Edmund King Househttp://carmichaeldigitalprojects.org/archivingmontevallo/exhibits/show/ghosts-at-montevallo/ghosts-at-king-house
Pickens County Courthousehttps://www.alabamapioneers.com/face-window-pickens-county-alabama-can-see/
Pratt Hall at Huntingdon Collegehttps://libguides.huntingdon.edu/website/ghosts
Sturdivant Hallhttps://www.alabamapioneers.com/ghost-haunting-selma-alabama/
Sweetwater Mansionhttps://fringeparanormal.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/the-paranormal-at-home-hauntings-in-50-states-alabamas-sweetwater-mansion/
Tombigbee Riverhttps://www.alabamaheritage.com/alabama-heritage-blog/the-phantom-steamboat-of-the-tombigbee
Arizona
Bird Cage Theatrehttp://tombstonechamber.com/directory/bird-cage-theatre-tombstone-chamber-of-commerce/
Casey Moore’s Oysterhttps://www.hauntedjourneys.com/haunted-eateries/1258-casey-moore-s-oyster-house
Copper Queen Hotelhttps://www.hauntedrooms.com/product/copper-queen-hotel-bisbee-arizona
Part of the football field at Lee Williams High Schoolhttps://www.latimes.com/nation/la-xpm-2013-may-25-la-na-kingman-ghosts-20130526-story.html
Monte Vista Hotelhttps://www.theodysseyonline.com/haunted-hotel-monte-vista
Arkansas
Gurdon Lighthttps://www.atlasobscura.com/places/gurdon-light
Crescent Hotelhttps://www.scmp.com/magazines/post-magazine/article/1873655/ghost-hunting-1886-crescent-americas-most-haunted-hotel
California
Alcatrazhttps://wildsftours.com/why-is-alcatraz-prison-in-san-francisco-haunted/
El Adobe de Capistranohttps://www.ocregister.com/2013/10/31/spooky-stories-still-haunt-historic-san-juan-capistrano/
Winchester Mystery House.http://mentalfloss.com/article/527411/14-haunting-facts-about-winchester-mystery-house
Colorado
Pioneer Parkhttps://www.ghostsandgravestones.com/san-diego/the-haunted-guide-to-pioneer-park
Stanley Hotelhttps://www.tripsavvy.com/the-haunted-stanley-hotel-4108817
Connecticut
Bara-Hackhttps://www.atlasobscura.com/places/the-abandoned-village-of-barahack-pomfret-connecticut
Dudleytownhttps://www.damnedct.com/dudleytown
Union Cemeteryhttps://theness.com/index.php/ghosts-of-union-cemetery/
District of Columbia
Capitol Buildinghttps://www.aoc.gov/blog/haunted-halls-congress-5-creepy-capitol-legends
White Househttps://www.washingtonpost.com/news/retropolis/wp/2017/10/30/is-the-white-house-haunted-a-history-of-spooked-presidents-prime-ministers-and-pets/
Octagon Househttps://seeksghosts.blogspot.com/2011/08/haunted-octagon-house.html
Florida
Don CeSar Hotelhttps://www.hauntedrooms.com/product/the-don-cesar-hotel-st-pete-beach-fl
Leaf Theaterhttps://www.wctv.tv/home/headlines/33242929.html
University of South Florida Libraryhttp://news.usf.edu/article/templates/?a=2926
Georgia
Ebos Landing (Igbo Landing)https://www.themoonlitroad.com/ibo-landing/
Moon River Brewing Companyhttps://ghostcitytours.com/savannah/haunted-places/haunted-restaurants/moon-river-brewing-company/
17Hundred90 Innhttps://ghostcitytours.com/savannah/haunted-places/haunted-hotels/17hundred90-inn/
Southeastern Railway Museumhttp://www.hauntedhovel.com/duluth-southeastern-railway-museum.html
Hawaii
Iolani Palacehttps://www.robertshawaii.com/blog/oahus-most-spooky-spots/
Idaho
Pocatello High Schoolhttps://www.idahostatejournal.com/news/local/new-ghost-hunters-show-will-apparently-feature-haunted-pocatello-high/article_0e9b8b5e-7aa6-534b-a942-32e15ffcd31f.html
Illinois
Former Chicago Historical Society Buildinghttps://www.illinoishauntedhouses.com/real-haunt/former-chicago-historical-society-building.html
Indiana
Culbertson Mansionhttps://www.gosoin.com/blog/post/ten-interesting-and-scary-things-to-know-about-culbertson-mansions-literally-a-haunted-house/
Fowler Theatre.https://storytellingarts.org/2017/02/ghost-fowler-theatre/
Iowa
Ambrose Hallhttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/iowa_davenport_ambrose_hall#
E. H. Harrison Househttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/ohio_columbus_harrison_house#
The Jordan Househttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/iowa_des_moines_jordan_house#
Josiah B. and Sara Moore Househttps://alchetron.com/Josiah-B.-and-Sara-Moore-House
Kansas
Brown Grand Theatrehttps://www.bladeempire.com/news/ghost-hunting-night-ghost-hunting-night-brown-grand-theatre
The Eldridge Hotelhttps://eldridgehotel.com/our-story/eldridge-ghost/
The Le Hunthttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/kansas/le-hunt-kansas/
Stull Cemeteryhttps://www.dreadcentral.com/news/203455/americas-haunted-places-stull-cemetery/
Kentucky
X Cave at Carter Caves State Resort Parkhttps://www.hauntedplaces.org/item/x-cave-carter-caves-state-resort-park/
The Bourbon Innhttps://www.bourbonorleans.com/the-hotel/haunted/
White Hallhttps://www.richmondregister.com/news/local_news/exploring-the-ghosts-in-cassius-clay-s-home/article_7c9b51ec-5742-5da6-9559-a8f1d2918b13.html
Waverly Hills Sanitariumhttps://www.americanhauntingsink.com/waverlytb
Louisiana
Jean Lafittehttps://ghostcitytours.com/new-orleans/haunted-places/haunted-bed-breakfasts/jean-lafitte-house/
Magnolia Plantation (Derry, Louisiana)https://www.hauntedrooms.com/magnolia-plantation-derry-louisiana
New Orleans restaurant, Muriel’shttps://ghostcitytours.com/new-orleans/haunted-places/muriels-restaurant/
Myrtles Plantationhttps://www.americanhauntingsink.com/myrtles
Maryland
Chesapeake and Ohio Canalhttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/maryland/haunted-tunnel-md/
The Horse You Came In On Saloonhttps://www.hauntedjourneys.com/haunted-eateries/3946-horse-you-came-in-on-saloon
Massachusetts
The USS Salem (CA-139) in Quincyhttps://www.ocoosaws.com/me/haunted-travels-usa/services/the-haunted-ship-9034.html
Lyceum Hall in Salemhttps://salemghosts.com/salem-lyceum-hall/
Michigan
Big Bay Point Lighthttp://www.angelsghosts.com/haunted_lighthouses_big_bay_point_light
Missouri
Town of Avillahttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/missouri/avilla-mo/
Vaile Mansionhttps://www.legendsofamerica.com/mo-independencehauntings/
Lemp Mansionhttps://www.ozy.com/flashback/the-story-behind-this-haunted-mansion-will-give-you-the-creeps/81720
Montana
Bannackhttps://www.legendsofamerica.com/mt-bannackghost/
Boulder Hot Springs Hotelhttps://billingsgazette.com/news/state-and-regional/montana/some-say-ghosts-frequent-boulder-hot-springs/article_e7e9361b-d7e5-510d-9c64-343ce0a9ab28.html
Carroll Collegehttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/montana_helena_carroll_college#
The Copper King Mansionhttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/montana_butte_copper_king_mansion#
Dude Rancher Lodgehttp://www.duderancherlodge.com/haunted-history/
Garnethttps://www.legendsofamerica.com/mt-garnet/
The Little Bighorn Battlefieldhttps://billingsgazette.com/news/local/little-bighorn-site-haunted-accounts-over-the-years-say/article_273aef78-4069-5472-a9a4-0830d91468ac.html
Montana Territorial Prisonhttps://m.bpt.me/event/4293366
Nevada
Nevada Governor’s Mansionhttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/nevada_carson_city_nevada_governors_mansion#
New Jersey
Burlington County Prisonhttps://weirdnj.com/stories/garden-state-ghosts/burlington-prison/
Cape Mayhttps://bestofnj.com/features/entertainment/haunted-nj-cape-mays-ghostly-hotspots/
Essex County Hospital Center
Leeds Pointhttps://www.newjerseyhauntedhouses.com/real-haunt/leeds-point-pine-barrens.html
New York
112 Ocean Avenue House,https://thoughtcatalog.com/jeremy-london/2018/11/112-ocean-avenue/
Cherry Hill Estatehttps://spectrumlocalnews.com/nys/capital-region/news/2018/10/31/albany-tailored-tea-in-latham
New York State Capitolhttps://www.milesgeek.com/hauntings-new-york-state-capitol
North Carolina
The Attmore-Oliver Househttps://www.wnct.com/news/people-and-places-with-pierce-the-attmore-oliver-house/
Broughton State Hospitalhttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/north-carolina/broughton-asylum-nc/
Brown Mountainhttps://hauntedspotslibrary.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/haunted-spot-9-the-mystery-of-the-brown-mountain-lights/
The Carolina Theatrehttp://www.carolinatheatre.org/films/haunt
Fayettevillehttps://www.experiencefayetteville.com/experience/item/106-haunted-fayetteville
The Harvey Mansion Historic Innhttps://seeksghosts.blogspot.com/2015/12/harvey-house-casa-del-desierto.html
The Tar Riverhttps://dalejyoung.com/the-tar-river-ghost/
North Dakota
The Liberty Memorial Buildinghttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/north_dakota_bismarck_library_memorial_building#
Saint Anne’s Guest Homehttps://www.miamighostchronicles.com/the-legend-of-st-anns-retreat.html
Ohio
Arnold’s Bar and Grillhttps://www.wcpo.com/news/insider/arnolds-bar-and-grill-is-a-hot-spot-for-paranormal-activity-owners-say
Cincinnati Music Hallhttps://www.cincinnatimagazine.com/citywiseblog/how-did-cincinnatis-music-hall-get-so-haunted/
Emmitt Househttps://doubtfulnews.com/2014/01/paranormal-hotspot-destroyed-by-fire-emmitt-house-was-heavily-publicized-as-haunted/
Lima State Hospitalhttps://maps.roadtrippers.com/stories/ohios-most-haunted-insane-asylum-has-a-permanent-corpse-shadow
Madison Seminaryhttps://www.news-herald.com/news/ohio/historic-sites-rumors-of-haunting-persist-at-madison-seminary/article_6b4fbdc9-aea6-5f1a-95e3-d7434df31a94.html
Mahall’s 20 Laneshttps://www.cleveland.com/entertainment/2015/10/withmahalls_in_lakewood_to_inv.html
Oklahoma
Dead Women Crossinghttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/oklahoma/haunted-road-ok/
Oregon
Oregon Trailhttps://www.legendsofamerica.com/we-oregontrailghost/
Bagdad Theaterhttp://americashauntedroadtrip.com/tag/bagdad-theater/
Pittock Mansionhttps://allthatsinteresting.com/pittock-mansion
Roseland Theaterhttps://wikivisually.com/wiki/Roseland_Theater
Portland Undergroundhttps://theghostinmymachine.com/2014/03/17/haunted-road-trip-the-portland-underground-and-the-shanghai-tunnels/
Pennsylvania
Cliveden Manorhttps://www.wattpad.com/527572836-haunted-locations-cliveden-manor
First Bank of the United States
Fort Mifflinhttp://www.weirdus.com/states/pennsylvania/ghosts/fort_mifflin/index.php
Library Hallhttps://pawilds.com/sarah-and-the-north-hall-library/
Pennhurst asylumhttps://weirdnj.com/stories/pennhurst-asylum/
Powel Househttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/pennsylvania_philadelphia_powel_house#
South Carolina
Pawleys Islandhttps://www.pawleysisland.com/blog/haunted-pawleys-island/
Folly Beachhttps://rootsrated.com/stories/a-haunted-history-of-folly-beach
Tennessee
town of Adamshttp://www.bellwitch.org/adams.htm
Carnton Mansionhttps://seeksghosts.blogspot.com/2015/01/haunted-carnton-plantation.html
Williamson County Courthousehttps://www.hauntedrooms.com/williamson-county-jail-georgetown-tx
The Palace Theatrehttp://scarynashville.com/palace-theater
Hurricane Millshttps://www.wideopencountry.com/story-behind-loretta-lynns-haunted-hurricane-mills-plantation/
Earnestine & Hazel’s locationhttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/tennessee_memphis_ernestine_hazel_bldg#
The Orpheum Theatrehttps://styleblueprint.com/memphis/everyday/orpheum-theatre-memphis/
Texas
The Menger Hotelhttps://www.legendsofamerica.com/tx-mengerhotel/
The Devil’s Backbonehttps://texashillcountry.com/devils-backbone-haunted-texas/
The Marfa lightshttps://marfapublicradio.org/blog/west-texas-wonders/the-marfa-lights-underground-lightning-wandering-ghosts-or-something-else/
The commissary at the Houston Zoohttp://theresashauntedhistoryofthetri-state.blogspot.com/2015/01/houstons-haunted-zoo.html
Excelsior Hotel in Jeffersonhttps://kkyr.com/dont-ask-about-the-ghosts-at-jeffersons-excelsior-house-hotel/
Virginia
A house at Bremo Recesshttps://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?id=212047188985120&story_fbid=971599093029922
Washington
The former Burnley Professional School of Arthttps://historylink.org/File/2023
The Harvard Exit Theatrehttps://www.thestranger.com/seattle/i-quit-my-job-at-the-harvard-exit-three-weeks-ago-after-working-there-for-seven-years-today-i-learned-its-closing-i-will-miss-it/Content?oid=21145158
Ye College Innhttps://www.historylink.org/File/8782
West Virgnia
Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylumhttps://www.washingtonian.com/2018/10/25/i-spent-the-night-in-a-haunted-trans-allegheny-lunatic-asylum-and-i-still-cant-explain-what-i-saw/
Wisconsin
The Pfister Hotelhttps://www.mlb.com/cut4/haunted-baseball-stories-from-pfister-hotel/c-298043052
US Cities
New York
Palmyra Historical Museum, Palmyrahttps://hauntedhistorytrail.com/blog/a-fascinating-visit-to-the-museums-of-historic-palmyra
Iron Island Museum, Buffalohttps://buffalo.com/2018/09/28/local-haunt-iron-island-museum/
The Amityville Horror house, Amityvillehttps://allthatsinteresting.com/amityville-murders-ronald-defeo-jr
Buffalo Central Terminal, Buffalohttps://www.wgrz.com/article/news/wny-haunts-buffalos-central-terminal/487171227
Rolling Hills Asylum, East Bethanyhttps://weirdnj.com/stories/rolling-hills-asylum/
Belhurst Castle and Winery, Genevahttp://www.visitfingerlakes.com/articles/post/belhurst-castle-joins-haunted-history-trail/
Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Sleepy Hollowhttps://www.nytimes.com/2000/10/29/nyregion/ghost-stories-the-other-legend-of-sleepy-hollow.html
Utica State Hospital, Uticahttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/new-york/evil-place-ny/
The Sagamore, Bolton Landinghttps://www.lakegeorge.com/whatsnew/2016/10/sagamore-one-of-top-10-haunted-hotels/
Hyde Hall, Cooperstownhttps://lite987.com/the-haunting-of-hyde-hall-in-cooperstown-cny-paranormal-video/
Dr. Best House & Medical Exhibit, Middleburghhttps://www.huffpost.com/entry/haunted-house-possessed-plants_n_5810f319e4b0990edc2eba0b
Gurnsey Hollow, Frewsburghttps://www.trytoscare.me/legend/gurnsey-hollow-cemetery-frewsburg-ny/
New York State Capitol, Albanyhttps://ghost.hauntedhouses.com/new_york_albany_albany_state_capitol#
Letchworth Village, Thiellshttps://owlcation.com/humanities/Letchworth-Village-Abandoned-Insane-Asylums
Forest Park Cemetery, Brunswickhttps://newyorkparanormal.tumblr.com/post/145382169646/forest-park-cemetery-brunswicktroy-also
Fort William Henry Museum, Lake Georgehttp://www.hauntedhovel.com/fortwilliamhenry.html
Landmark Theater, Syracusehttps://961theeagle.com/ghosts-landmark-theatre-syracuse/
Burn Brae Mansion, Glen Speyhttps://babesrideout.com/blog/2019/5/3/things-just-got-spooky-in-the-catskills-take-a-haunted-moto-adventure-to-burn-brae-mansion
Seward House Museum, Auburnhttps://auburnpub.com/news/local/once-is-not-enough-seward-house-hosts-haunted-history-tours/article_cb4c9eef-3bd5-5e87-b87f-303bbb495a28.html
The Winery at Marjim Manor, Appletonhttps://www.marjimmanor.com/legend_current_ghost_sightings.html
Vermont
Hyde Manor – Sudbury, VThttps://vermonter.com/sudbury-vermont-the-fall-of-hyde-manor/
The Hayden House – Albany, VThttps://www.onlyinyourstate.com/vermont/vt-haunted-house/
The Green Mountain Inn – Stowe, VThttp://hauntedeateries.com/2016/07/15/green-mountain-inn-stowe-vermont/
Ricker Basin – Waterbury, VThttps://vermonter.com/ricker-basin-vermont-ghost-town/
The Dutton House at Shelburne Museumhttps://vermonter.com/shelburne-museums-dutton-house-ghost/
The Haunted Railroad Bridge of Hartford, VThttps://vermonter.com/haunted-railroad-bridge/
The Highgate Manor Innhttps://vermonter.com/high-spirits-at-the-highgate-manor-inn/
Huntington Gorge – Swimming Hole of Deathhttps://vermonter.com/huntington-gorge/
The Curse of Brunswick Springshttps://obscurevermont.com/the-mysteries-of-the-brunswick-springs/
The Bowman Monument of Cuttingsville, VThttps://vermonter.com/bowman-monument-of-cuttingsville-vt/
Hope Cemetery of Barre, VThttps://skullsinthestars.com/2010/10/30/a-visit-to-mount-hope-cemetery-2/
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.